New districts for Troup, WH after new UIL realignment


It happens every two years and there are always anxieties as the University Interscholastic League releases the new district realignments.

The UIL posted the realignments for the 2018-2019 and 2019-2020 schools years for football and other sports Thursday, Feb. 1.

Troup and Whitehouse will be in new districts for the 2018-2019 football seasons. The realignment does not apply to every sport but will to most sports for boys and girls at Whitehouse. Other sports for Troup were aligned in different districts, as has been the case for many years.

For football, Troup moved from District 9-3A, Division II, to District 10-3A, Division II. Arp is the only current district opponent that was moved along with Troup to District 10-3A. Three of Troup’s new district opponents were relocated from 8-3A, including Harmony, Alba-Golden and Winona. Frankston moved from 10-3A while Quitman and Grand Saline downgraded from District 7-3A, Division I.

The new District 10-3A ranges in average daily attendance (ADA) from Alba-Golden at 235 to Troup at 324. Troup added 10 to the ADA from 314 in the last realignment. Quitman had the greatest drop in ADA from 320 to 293, a loss of 27 from the last realignment. Winona had the greatest gain from 276 to 310, an increase ADA of 34. Harmony had an increase of 18 from 304 to 322, Frankston also had an increase of 18 from 231 to249 and Arp experienced an increase of 10 from 255 to 265. Grand Saline dropped 11 from 320 to 309.

The bi-district opponents for Troup and other District 10-3A schools will be District 9-3A, Division II schools, including Bells and Blue Ridge, currently in District 6-2A, Division I, and Cooper, Leonard, Paris Chisum, Pattonville Prairiland and Whitewright, all currently part of District 6-3A. District 9-3A schools are north and east of the Troup/Tyler area.

Troup’s current District 9-3A opponents Elysian Fields and Waskom were moved to District 11-3A.

For the 2018 and 2019 football seasons, Whitehouse will play in District 9-5A, Division II. Jacksonville, Nacogdoches and Lindale will join Whitehouse in the new district alignment, and four District 16-5A schools will be relocated, including Hallsville, Longview Pine Tree, Marshall and Mount Pleasant.

“We are excited to now know who we will be competing against in district next season,” said Whitehouse head coach Adam Cook. “Being a part of the old East Texas district will be good for our team and our community.”

Regarding the new ADA figures, the new District 9-5A schools range from Lindale at 1,154 to Nacogdoches at 1,756, a difference of 602 students. Schools that reflected the greatest increase were Nacogdoches with 82 more students, Jacksonville with 65 more and Mount Pleasant with an additional 43 students. Hallsville gained 17. Schools that indicated a decrease included Pine Tree at minus 20, Whitehouse with 30 fewer students, Lindale with a 39-student decrease and Marshall had 40 fewer students listed on the ADA.

In addition to the ADA for Nacogdoches and Lindale, the new figures include Mount Pleasant at 1,515; Hallsville at 1,461; Marshall at 1,407; Whitehouse at 1,379; Jacksonville at 1,313; and Pine Tree at 1,307.

In bi-district competition for the next two school years, District 9-5A teams will include Bryan Rudder, Cleveland, College Station A&M Consolidated, Huntsville, Katy Paetow, Montgomery, Montgomery Lake Creek and Rosenberg Lamar Consolidated.

Current District 17-5A opponents Ennis and Corsicana will be part of District 8-5A, Division II.

Tyler John Tyler will move to District 7-5A, Division I, and Robert E. Lee will be in District 11-6A, and Lufkin will be part of District 8-5A, Division I.

The new District 10-4A, Division I will include Carthage, Henderson, Kilgore, Palestine, Tyler Chapel Hill and Van. The new District 7-4A, Division II will include Brownsboro, Bullard, Canton, Rusk and Wills Point.


Special Sections