Troup golf second after first round


Golf truly is a game of strokes. A few strokes by each team member can make all the difference in the world.

Troup finished second in the team standings after the starting round at the State Class-3A golf championship Monday, May 14, at Gray Rock Golf Course in Austin.

As a team, the Tigers carded a 322 for the opening round. Region II rival Pottsboro had a healthy 13-stroke lead with a team total of 309 after the first round of competition. Troup led after the first round at the 2017 State meet, so the Tigers had their work cut out for them in the second round that was scheduled for Tuesday, May 15 (complete results will be in next week’s newspaper).

Pottsboro also led after the first round at the recent Region I tournament but the margin was significantly smaller at five strokes. The Tigers rebounded with a 14-stroke advantage in the second round of the regional tournament to claim the title.

Troup’s linksters had to play excellent golf in the second round Tuesday to defend their 2017 State title.

New Diana, also from Region II, was third after the first round of the State tournament Monday. New Diana posted a 325 or three strokes behind Troup.

Troup’s trip to the 2018 State tournament is the ninth consecutive and 10th trip in the past 11 years the Tigers have competed in the championship. Troup captured the crown for the first time in 2017 after placing second in 2016.

Region II medalist Austyn Reily led the Class-3A tournament after a first-round total of 69. Peyton Hugghins led Troup after he fired a 77, and Brayden Maris was second at 78. Hugghins was sixth overall after Monday’s first round, and Maris was tied for 10th.

Jake Smelser was third for the team and 19th overall after he carded an 80. Corbin Whitsell fired an 87 and Garrett Towery posted a 119.

The team results following the first round at the Class-3A State meet included Pottsboro 309, Troup 322, New Diana 325, Comanche 336, Merkel 341, Brock 348, Rockdale 352, Comfort 355, Pollok Central 357, Cameron Yoe 373, Blanco 392 and Lyford 425.

There were 72 participants from the eight playoff schools and individual medalist players. The top 24 individual results following the first round included Reily, 69; Garrett Leak, Brock, 73; Ethan Miller, Georgetown Gateway, 74; Parker Doan, Merkel, 76; Cameron Hubbard, Pollok, 77; Hugghins, 77; Hayden Kent, Pottsboro, 77; Nick Beaussoleil, Hardin, 77; Wade Langley, Winnsboro, 77; Maris, 78; Jake Angerstein, Early, 78; Noah Vasquez, Palmer, 78; Jake Summers, Nacogdoches Central Heights, 78; Kasey Middleton, Comanche, 78; Blayde Weekley, New Diana, 79; Cooper New, Comfort, 79; Conner Key, Holiday, 79; Walker Crane, Rockdale, 80; Smelser, 80; Garrett Townsend, Pottsboro, 80; Sam Benson, New Diana, 80; Cooper Riley, Blanco, 80; Sergio Garcia, Karnes City, 80; Bronte Hermesmeyer, Comanche, 80.


Special Sections